Thursday, October 30, 2008

Two Elephants and Chakra

In Vihara Vipassana Graha garden, there are statue of two white elephants with golden tusks holding a chakra. In sankrit, chakra means circle or wheel. In Hinduism and Buddhist theory, chakra is the center of energy of human metaphysical body. There are 7 primary chakras; muladhara (lower body), swadhisthana (reproductive part), manipura (navel), anahata (heart), vishuddha (throat), ajna (forehead) and sahasrara (top of head). In some Eastern thought, such as Hinduism and Buddhism, chakras are considered to be gradations of consciousness and reflect states of the soul.

1 comment:

Rakesh Vanamali said...

Amazing picture and a good write-up!

Thanks for sharing this!